January 18 – Day 1

This morning I received an email from my personnel supervisor wanting to meet with me.   We scheduled a time. As the morning passed my intuition kicked into high gear and I became certain that I was going to be terminated.   My intuition was correct and I was terminated after having been employed at this company for more than thirty years.  I also had turned 60 last October.

My immediate feeling was one of relief as I had been preparing for this day for a while.  I was also scared as I knew it meant that I was going to try to live cheaply for the next six years, trying not to dip into retirement until my 66th birthday.   I was also grateful because I qualified for a benefit that would provide a continuation of my insurance until I reached Medicare age.  I would be paying what the company’s  employees paid for health insurance — much less than  Cobra.  It was this benefit that made me think that I could swing living on my savings. We’ll see how that works out.

I had already removed personal items from my office several months ago because I thought my project coverage would end at the end of 2010. I made an effort to get rid of old materials that I was saving for easy reference rather than because they needed to be archived or saved.  I had had to pack my office to have the rug replaced a few months earlier and, at that time, I took the trouble to pack my items separately from those that belonged to the company.  I never bothered to unpack my stuff.  It was nice knowing that I could move out of my office easily and quickly.

Before I left my meeting I was asked to sign a statement that I has received a severance agreement.  I was also asked to check with my assignment supervisor to transition any remaining work.  I did and agreed to come in the next two days to finish a task and make sure some things were documented.  Then I left.

 

  1. #1 by Mr WordPress on January 18, 2011 - 11:19 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

